The National Standard

The National Standard for Cycle Training is a three tier training scheme to teach you how to cycle safety and confidently on the road with respect for other road users. The three different levels are as follows:

  • Level 1 – conducted in a controlled environment away from roads and traffic. Cyclists are usually trained in groups of 2-10 riders, although individual training is available. Provides the basic cycle control skills including, starting and pedaling, stopping, manoeuvering, signaling and using the gears.
  • Level 2 – On-road training for those who have completed Level 1 and are ready to progress; it gives real cycling experience and makes trainees feel safer and capable of dealing with traffic on short commuting journeys or when cycling to school. Training is mainly in small groups over a number of sessions.
  • Level 3 – develops the basic skills and trains riders to make journeys in a variety of traffic conditions competently, confidently and consistently. Cyclists reaching the Level 3 standard will be able to deal with all types of road conditions and more complex situations. The course covers dealing with hazards, making ‘on-the-move’ risk assessments and planning routes for safer cycling.


Our Packages


+44 (0)7413 779219

Subscribe to this website via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this website and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other subscribers.

Back to Top